# Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science Highlights of Academic Year 2017-18 College of Pharmacy Report for the IPhA Submitted by Marc S. Abel, PhD, Dean, September 2018

### Admissions

- The incoming Class of 2022 comprises 65 students.
- Following success last year, the 2018 STEP-Rx program (Summer Transitional Educational Program for Pharmacy) was offered to talented individuals with an application metric that was slightly below threshold. The three-week intensive experience in June exposed them to curricular and academic support elements.
   Data from assessments conducted during the program were used by the Admissions Committee to determine acceptance offers.
- The Class of 2022 White Coat Ceremony was held on August 11, 2018.
  - The keynote speaker was Noelle Chapman, PharmD, BCPS, FASHP. Noelle is currently the Pharmacy Operations Manager and PGY1 Residency Program Director at Northwestern Memorial Hospital in Chicago, and was recently sworn in as the ICHP President. She was inspirational as she described her professional path and welcomed the new students.
  - Dan Dickson, PharmD, (Alumnus, COP 2017) addressed the incoming students, offering advice and congratulations. Dr. Dickson is currently a PGY2 critical care resident at Northwestern Memorial Hospital in Chicago.
  - The ceremony was very well attended, as well as live-streamed on the University website allowing family and friends who could not attend to see their pharmacy student receive the white coat and recite the Pharmacy Oath.

### **Faculty**

- Eris Tollkuci, PharmD, joined the Department of Pharmacy Practice as an Assistant Professor with clinical practice in the area of Hematology/Oncology/Cell Therapy.
- John Buolamwini, B.Pharm, PhD, (Chair, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences)
   was installed as Chair-Elect of the Chemistry Section of the AACP.
- Abbie Lyden, PharmD (Department of Pharmacy Practice ) was promoted to Associate Professor.
- James O'Donnell, PhD (Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences) received the Travel Award for Pharmacology Educators to the American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics (ASPET) meeting at Experimental Biology 2018.
- Eric Walters, PhD (Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences) continues as Secretary of the Medicinal Chemistry Division of the American Chemical Society.

### Faculty Research, Presentations, and Service during AY 17-18

0	Peer-reviewed publications	16
0	Book chapters and reviews	8
0	External meeting presentations	20
0	External seminars	17
0	Other external scholarly activities	28
0	Service on grant study sections	6
0	Service on journal editorial boards	8
0	Grants	7
0	Students involved in summer research	19

### Students

- Kappa Psi chapter was ranked #1 the Mid-America Province two consecutive years.
- Jasmine Woods (COP 2018) elected to National Board of Directors for SNPhA.
- SNPhA chapter recognized at annual conference as one of the top chapters (3rd) nationally within small chapter category.
- o IPhO chapter placed in top 5 in nation for business case presentation.
- o Anne Alvarez (COP 2019) was named a Walmart Scholar.
- Ann Ray (COP 2019) published in the July issue of APhA's Student Pharmacist magazine with article on opiod awareness.
- Alexandria Sweetman (COP 2018) was named a Paul Ambrose Scholar. Lexi
  developed and implemented a pharmacy student-led initiative to reduce the abuse
  and misuse of prescription narcotics in Lake County, IL.

# **Student Community Service**

- o 200 Health and Wellness Educational Interventions
- 440 Clinical Interventions/Services
- Pharmacy students continue to be instrumental in the organization and running of an Interprofessional Community Clinic at RFUMS. This student-led, faculty-supervised clinic serves the needs of patients from the surrounding underserved area. Supervised interprofessional groups of students conduct patient intake, interviews, physical assessment, diagnosis, and treatment. Patients are followed for the duration of their illness.

## HelixTalk (<u>www.helixtalk.org</u> or search iTunes podcasts)

- HelixTalk continues to be produced by 3 of our faculty (Sean Kane, Kyati Patel, Michael Shuman). There are 98 podcasts available, with a new podcast released approximately every 3-4 weeks.
- o 17 new episodes were published in AY 17-18
- o Ranked #63 (up from #99 last year) in the iTunes "medicine" category
- o 100% 5 star ratings in iTunes
- Nearly 800,000 downloads to date, 19,000 downloads per month, and 2,500 downloads per episode

### Other

- o 21% of the Class of 2018 successfully matched for residency.
- A new Strategic Plan (2018-2023) was developed. The Goals within each Focus Area are aligned with the University Strategic Plan.
- o A new Fellowship was established with Horizon Pharma.