2010 Award Recipients


Gary Frisch, RPh, MBA
(Pictured with Steve Szewczyk)

Pharmacist of the Year

This is IPhA’s oldest continuing honor, having had its initial presentation in 1950. It recognizes an Illinois pharmacist who has made outstanding contributions to pharmacy practice, the profession, and the Illinois Pharmacists Association.

Award sponsored by the Illinois
Pharmacists Association.




Carl Hudson Jr., RPh

(Pictured with Dennis Bryan)

Bowl of Hygeia

This award honors a pharmacist who has compiled an outstanding record of community service, which apart from his/her specific identification as a pharmacist, reflects well on the profession. Also: Pharmacist licensed in Illinois; IPhA member; has not previously received the award; must not be currently serving or have served, within the past two years, as an officer of IPhA, other than an ex-officio capacity, or as member of its awards committee.

Award sponsored by Wyeth Pharmaceuticals.


Erika Krysiak, RPh

(Pictured with Dan Blank)
Distinguished Young Practitioner/
Edmond P. Barcus Award

Originally sponsored by IPhA to honor the memory of IPhA President Edmond P. Barcus, who died in office, this award honors an up-and-coming pharmacist. The recipient is an individual who shows tremendous commitment to the profession and his/her community, leadership potential, professional aspirations, and involvement in community service. Also: Member of IPhA in the year selected; entry degree in pharmacy received less than ten years ago; licensed to practice pharmacy in Illinois and must have practiced in community, institutional, managed care, or consulting pharmacy in the year selected; participated in national pharmacy associations, professional programs, and/or community service.

Award sponsored by Pharmacists
Mutual Companies.


David Mikus, RPh
(Pictured with Dennis Bryan)

Excellence in Innovation

This award honors a practicing pharmacist who has developed an innovative patient care program. Also: Member of IPhA; licensed to practice in Illinois; developed and implemented an innovative patient care program.

Award sponsored by
Upsher-Smith Laboratories.





Beverly Rossmiller
(Pictured l to r: Dennis Bryan, Mike Patton)

Honorary President

This award recognizes a lengthy and sustained commitment of support to the profession and the Association. The recipient of this award need not necessarily be a pharmacist but must have a demonstrated dedication and a record of service to the profession.

Award sponsored by the
Illinois Pharmacists Association.

You may view Beverly Rossmiller's acceptance speech by clicking here.




Daniel Glapa

(Pictured with Dennis Bryan)


Emily Sieracki

(Pictured with Dennis Bryan)

Alan Granat Memorial Scholarship Award

This award was established as a memorial tribute to Alan Granat, who served as Executive Director of IPhA from 1979 until his death in 1989. The award is presented annually to a pharmacist and/or pharmacy student who has exhibited a commitment to pharmacy and community, as evidenced by membership and participation in pharmacy organizations and community involvement.

To be eligible, nominees must be members of IPhA, Illinois residents, and licensed to practice in Illinois. Eligible students must be entering their third year of a Pharm.D. program, be student members of IPhA, and have their permanent residency in Illinois.

The recipient(s) of this award are required to contribute an article to Illinois Pharmacist, IPhA’s quarterly magazine.





Denise MacKenzie, RPh
(Pictured with Starlin Haydon-Greatting (r))

Pharmacist-Coach Award

This Award recognizes the achievements of an individual who has made significant contributions or sustained contributions to the provision of patient-centered care within the practice areas represented by the Illinois Pharmacists Network through the Patient Self Management Programs.

Award sponsored by
PSMP/IPhA Foundation.



Gerald Bailey, RPh
(Mr. Bailey's wife Kathy was present to
accept the award from Marlin Weekley)

IPhA Foundation Lifetime Pharmacy Service Award

The award has been established to honor pharmacists in all practice settings who have, through example, integrity, and longevity, served as role models for those in the profession of pharmacy.

Award sponsored by the IPhA Foundation.








Dennis Bryan, RPh,MBA,FAPhA
(Pictured with Mike Patton)

Susan Cornell, BS, PharmD,

(Pictured with Mike Minesinger)

Pharmacy Leadership Award

Every year, the National Community Pharmacist Association honors the incoming president of each state pharmacy association with a leadership award.

NCPA realizes the tremendous work that the Association does each year to represent pharmacists in our state. NCPA’s efforts at the national level to promote and defend pharmacists are enhanced greatly by the excellent cooperation and support that it receives from the staff and officers of an Association. This Leadership Award is one way for NCPA to say “Thank You and Good Luck”
as a president steps up to lead an Association during these challenging times for the
pharmacy profession.

















Maurice Shaw

Poster Presentations Winner

The poster presentation is a vehicle for students and pharmacists to present their innovative practice or clinical research.  The IPhA has developed procedures for student posters to be judged by nominated pharmacists throughout the state of Illinois.  Judges review the posters and discuss with the researcher findings of their work.  It is a great way to bring the pharmacy community together.


Shannon Pace
(Pictured with Jessica Kerr)

Patient Counseling Competition Winner

Students are provided a prescription and patient profile to review.  They then have to provide education regarding this medication to ensure the patient feels confident on the purpose and administration of this medication.   It is one step that the IPHA takes to incorporate our student learners to be involved with the organization and increases their confidence levels to become prepared for the future. 



Illinois Pharmacists Association | 204 West Cook Street | Springfield, IL 62704 | Ph: (217) 522-7300 | Fax: (217) 522-7349